Clever little thing

IMG_3498

IMG_3501

IMG_3502

IMG_3503

 

I had a meeting yesterday in the cool, somewhat posh area of Daikanyama. I love the area, as there are lots of small but cool cafes, shops and boutiques, without the crazy hustle and bustle of the neighboring Shibuya, for example. There is also some greenery, which makes the area even more enjoyable.

On my way back, I decided to check this small, cute shop called Allegory Bureau. I’m glad I did, as I found a source for many little things that are both useful, but also stylish. The shop sells stationery, small items for home and jewellery. Their ‘sister’ shop is called Allegory Home Tools, where you can find also tableware and home textiles. Both shops are located in Daikanyama.

The clever little things that made my day this time, were small blocks of wood, in different sizes. There’s a small carved slot in each piece, so you can insert postcards, notes etc. in them, and pins behind each piece so it’s easy to to mount the pieces on to wall or a noteboard. I just love them. A simple idea, but makes the room look so much more fun, organised and also stylish. I decided that I *need* to go back and buy a pile of these in different sizes, as I realised they’re perfect for hanging my jewelry as well. Until now, I’ve had them hanging just from regular pins – which really don’t look that lovely.

I’m sure that a crafty person could make these at home easily, but as we don’t have the tools and these weren’t that expensive (prices range only between 108 and 324 yen!), I’ll just stock up from the cute Allegory shop. I was also glad to see they sell a variety of Finnish items: Fiskars scissors, Moomin stationery and Bliw soaps.

Leave a comment